Festival Crowd Header


Legendary artist Noel Gallagher has been confirmed as the headliner for Bingley Music Live 2018. Following a sell-out year in 2017, the festival's twelfth year promises to be it’s biggest to date. Noel
Gallagher’s High Flying Birds will be topping the bill at Myrtle Park after a hugely successful 2017 which saw their critically acclaimed album ‘Who Built The Moon’ reach number 1 in the album charts.

Released in November 2017 via Sour Mash Records, ‘Who Built The Moon’ is the third album from Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds. The record debuted at Number 1, receiving gold certification in less than two
weeks post-release. The success came as no surprise to the global music community with ‘Who Built The Moon’ completing a hat-trick of number one solo records since 2011, as well as marking a recordbreaking tenth consecutive chart-topping studio album for Noel Gallagher.

‘Who Built The Moon’ is celebrated as an innovation of Gallagher’s sound, seeing him experiment with ‘glam, psychedelia and candid pop’ pushing boundaries whilst retaining the world-class song-writing majesty that made him famous. The hypnotic ‘It’s A Beautiful World’, the second single taken from the album features ambient electronica from the acclaimed producer, DJ and composer David Holmes, and a French spoken word segment inspired by Gallic art house cinema. Noel’s sonic exploration has taken him further in 2018 with the announcement of a special remix collection of latest single ‘It’s A Beautiful
World’ which will be released exclusively for Record Store Day 2018 on Saturday 21st April.

Further to acclaimed remixes on previous Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds records, Andrew Weatherall provides a vocal mix and darker dub on the A-side. On the B-side, legendary Hacienda residents Mike Pickering and Graeme Park join forces to provide a mix which harks back to the heyday of the legendary Manchester nightclub. This is the first remix the duo have made together in over 25 years.

Fans of Noel Gallagher’s previous works will be pleased to hear that, as well as a wealth of new material and Highflying Birds, hits such as ‘In The Heat Of The Moment’ and ‘The Dying Of The Light’, Noel’s set at
Bingley Music Live 2018 will include a number of Oasis classics.

Noel Gallagher shot to fame with Oasis in 1993 when they signed a deal with Creation Records, releasing their debut ‘Definitely Maybe’ in 1994. Since, the band have released seven studio albums, one live album,
five compilation albums, and six studio albums. Oasis have sold an estimated 70 million records worldwide and are cited in Guinness World Records as the most successful act in the United Kingdom between the
years 1995 and 2005. Of their multitude of hits, most widely renowned songs such as ‘Wonderwall’, ‘Supersonic’ and ‘Don’t Look Back In Anger’, among others, have been known to make it into Noel Gallagher’s solo set.

Also joining the top tier bill at Bingley Music Live 2018 are Britpop wonders Shed Seven who have enjoyed overwhelming success with their return in 2017, seeing them sell-out venues across the UK.

‘Instant Pleasures’, the fifth studio album from the York Britpop quintet, received a plethora of rave reviews charting at number 8 in the UK Album Charts. Championed for their skill at ‘turning indefinable, touching, northern melancholy into huge, uplifting anthems’, Shed Seven’s return has been deservedly successful, turning them into a hot ticket and an unmissable live act.

2018’s final headliner, completing a landmark announcement for the festival, is fiery anthem maker Jake Bugg. Rocketing into the national consciousness in 2011 after being selected to play Glastonbury Festival via a submissions competition and subsequently signing to Mercury Records, Jake Bugg was just 17 years old when he became a household name.

Bugg’s electric fusion of ‘retro folk with blistering contemporary rock riffs’ has seen him release a plethora of festival-ready hits such as ‘Two Fingers’ and ‘Lightening Bolt’ from 2012’s eponymous debut. Bugg
released his fourth studio album ‘Hearts That Strain’ in 2017, a follow up to 2016’s ‘On My One’.

Across the weekend festival-revellers can also delight in sets from Wakefield trio The Cribs who rose to cult status in the UK for their gritty indie-rock. The band released their eighth studio album ’24 7 Rock Star Shit’ in 2017 returning to their old stomping grounds on an alternative-town tour. Shoegaze fans will rejoice with a set from Oxford’s Ride; originally emerging in 1988, Ride returned to the airwaves in 2017 with the critically acclaimed ‘Weather Diaries’. Also joining the bill are the experimental post-punk ‘project’ of former Sex Pistol John Lydon, Public Image Ltd.

Elsewhere on the bill 1998 Mercury Music Prize winners, Gomez bring a wealth of hits; youthful indie rockers Peace ignite a flame with new track ‘Power’; Marmozets showcase cuts from brand new album ‘Knowing What You Know Now’ (2018) and snotty teenage angst rages riot with Essex born artist, Ratboy

Published on 28 April 2018 by Wayne Feltham

Recent News More news

Upcoming Festivals Browse all

  • BBC Radio 6 Music Festival

    7 March - 10 March 2024

    BBC Radio 6 Music Festival is the flagship event for the radio station that champions up-and-coming acts and more leftfield bands and artists. It will be held in Manchester again, and 2024 features se...

  • Soultasia

    23 March 2024

    Soultasia is back at Indigo at the O2 in London for a third year of some of the best artists in soul and disco, along with up-and-coming acts. One of the fastest-growing music festival chains in the U...

  • Undercover Festival

    5 April - 07 April 2024

    Undercover Festival was founded in 2013 to celebrate punk, ska, indie, alternative and acoustic music in Brookwood, Surrey. It takes over Bisley Pavilion for three days in September and in an indoor f...